about us
contact us
free catalogue
terms & conditions
Home Page > Other Sports > Equestrian > Horse Racing's Greatest Ever Races (DVD)

Gift Book Range
DVD & Book Gift Packs
Antiquarian Golf Books
Rugby League
Rugby Union
Other Sports
Disney Educational
Special Interest

Horse Racing's Greatest Ever Races - Flat & Jumps (DVD)
Horse Racing's Greatest Ever Races - Flat & Jumps (DVD)

SRP Price
Our Price
You Save 2.00
Running Time
Green Umbrella
Release Date
January 2006
PAL Region 0
Availability Usually despatched within 2-3 working days.
A double DVD.

Flat Racing:
Clare Balding concentrates on the flat racing scene, counting down the 25 greatest races ever run. An amazing selection from Sea Biscuits defeat of War Admiral in 1938 to Persian Punchs emotional third triumph in the Jockey Club Cup at Newmarket and High Chaparrals amazing victory in the 2003 Breeders Cup meeting the closest ever.

Interspersed we have the likes of Mill Reef and Secretariat, Grundy and Shergar and Royal Academy and Cigar, amazing horses from around the flat racing world. Heres the 25 so sit back and enjoy the countdown:

1938 - Sea Biscuit defeats War Admiral, Pimlico Race Course
1956 - Ribot wins his 2nd Arc and retires unbeaten
1965 - Sea Bird wins the Derby in a canter
1965 - Sea Bird trounces the opposition in the Arc de Triomphe
1970 - Nijinsky majestic in the King George
1971 - Brigadier Gerard beats Mill Reef and My Swallow in the Guineas
1971 - Mill Reef wins the Arc in record-breaking time
1972 - Roberto denies Rheingold by the narrowest of margins in the Derby
1973 - Secretariat takes the Belmont Stakes and the Triple Crown by 31 lengths
1975 - Grundy beats Bustino in the King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Diamond Stakes at Ascot
1977 - The Minstrels power-packed finish in the Derby
1978 - Seattle Slew and Affirmed, two triple crown winners, dispute the Jockey Club Gold Cup
1981 - Shergar wins the Derby by record-breaking 10 lengths
1986 - Dancing Brave wins the Arc de Triomphe
1989 - Sunday Silence holds on to beat Easy Goer by a head, in the Breeders Cup Classic
1990 - Lester Piggott wins the Breeders Cup on Royal Academy
1991 - Arazi wins the Breeders Cup Juvenile in sensational fashion
1993 - Vintage Crop wins the Melbourne Cup
1995 - Cigar wins the Breeders Cup Classic, his 10th consecutive win that season
1996 - Frankie Dettori wins his 7th consecutive race at Ascot on Fujiyama Crest
2000 - Dubai Millennium winning the Dubai World Cup
2001 - Irish Champion Stakes fought out by Galileo and Fantastic Light
2000 - Giants Causeway beating Kalanisi in the Juddmonte International Stakes
2003 - Persian Punch wins the Jockey Club Cup for the third time
2003 - High Chaparral in the closest ever finish to a Breeders Cup race

DVD Extras: The Top 5 races in their entirety

Clare Balding turns her attention to the Jumps as we look back at emotionally charged successes, near misses and at horses that have made the pulse race. Theres Desert Orchid, who features in no less than four of the top 25 races, Red Rum, Viking Flagship, Dawn Run and Arkle amongst others. But which race from the 25 listed below has been picked out as the greatest ever? Watch this incredible programme to see:

1956 - Devon Loch loses the Grand National
1962 - Mandarin wins the Grand Steeplechase de Paris at Auteuil
1964 - Arkle defeats Mill House in the Cheltenham Gold Cup
1965 - Arkle wins the Whitbread Gold Cup
1967 - Foinavon wins the Grand National after an amazing pile up
1973 - Crisp gets pipped by Red Rum in the Grand National
1977 - Night Nurse wins one of the very best Champion Hurdles
1977 - Night Nurse and Monksfield dead-heat in the Templegate Hurdle
1977 - Red Rum wins the Grand National for the third time
1978 - Monksfield beats Sea Pigeon and Night Nurse in the Champion Hurdle
1980 - Sea Pigeon beats Monksfield and Birds Nest in the Champion Hurdle
1981 - Bob Champion wins the Grand National on Aldaniti
1983 - Cheltenham Gold Cup. Michael Dickinson trains first five home
1984 - Special Cargo wins an emotional Whitbread Gold Cup
1986 - Dawn Runs memorable Gold Cup
1989 - Desert Orchid beats Panto Prince in the Victor Chandler Handicap Chase
1989 - Desert Orchid wins the Cheltenham Gold Cup
1990 - Desert Orchid carries 12-3 to victory in the Racing Post Chase
1991 - Desert Orchid refuses to give in to Nick the Brief in the Agfa Diamond Chase
1994 - Viking Flagships pulsating victory in the Queen Mother Champion Chase
1995 - Melling Chase won by Viking Flagship
2000 - Istabraq wins Champion Hurdle for third consecutive time
2000 - Edredon Bleu beats Direct Route in the Queen Mother Champion Chase
2001 - Florida Pearl defeats Best Mate in the King George VI Chase
2004 - Best Mate wins the Cheltenham Gold Cup for the third year in a row

DVD Extras: The Top 5 races in their entirety

Privacy Statement
Green Umbrella 1999-2007
Designed and hosted by Teclan